FIFA Ultimate Team Card Design

That Northern Bloke
2 min readFeb 6, 2019

--

If you’re anything like me, you’ll have spent countless hours, and countless amounts of pocket money, collecting Panini stickers.

I’ve still for my 1999 Premier League stick book at home, and along with Pokemon cards it’s one of the things I’ll never throw away, because it brings back so many happy memories.

FIFA Ultimate Team is one of the main modes on FIFA 19, especially considering Career Mode has gone down the pan thanks to a lack of love over numerous iterations of the game. Each year card design seems to get better on FUT, except in my opinion, in FIFA 19.

It’s hard to tell the rare gold cards from the none rares, and they just don’t seem that ‘special’ when they appear on screen. Granted, the UCL Live cards look glorious, but I wondered if I could put my limited graphic design skills to use and come up with something different.

I’m paying homage to those years collecting stickers by going with a rectangular desing, last seen in FUT in FIFA 13, but more recently used in rival PES 2019.

There’s just something about those sharp corners I can’t resist — as the saying goes, if it’s not a right angle, it’s the wrong angle!

I hope you like them, let me know what you think.

Until next time.

--

--

That Northern Bloke

Blogs about football (both real & virtual), life and more from gravy-loving, Winter is Coming Northerners.